Who sees my post?
When you publish something on Classlist, you can always check who will be able to see it before you hit the 'Post' button. For instance, when you post a message, you will be prompted to choose which group (school group or parent group) you want to send it to: eg in the image below where it says 'Posting to...Year 2b'. If you send a private message it will only go to the individual addressee/s and no one else.
Badge notifications and email alerts
In addition to email alerts, mobile devices display badge or dot notifications which appear on the corresponding app icon to let the user know that there is new unread information waiting for their attention. Classlist also displays these badges on the website platform.
Badge notification on the app:
In the top image of the 'Happy Easter' post, you can see that the pale grey advice text confirms that parents in Year 2b will receive an email to let them know that a message has been posted the message, if they have opted to receive email alerts in their notification settings. The Year 2b parents will also see a badge notification displayed on the website and the app, again if they have opted to receive notification alerts. Parents with children in other classes will not see this post to Year 2b, unless they also have a child in Year 2b as well.
Any comments on a post (which can only be made by a parent in the posted-to group) can be viewed by the parents in the group which received the post (ie Year 2b in this example), but the alert to say 'someone has commented' will only be emailed to the original author of the post or anyone else who has already commented.
Which type of alert is sent and when?
The table below shows how parents are alerted for each type of interaction on Classlist, and whether the interaction will appear on the Parent Board wall. Remember that each parent's Parent Board will look different, because each user is a member of different groups.
You can change which Classlist alerts you receive by updating your profile settings. You can also edit your notification settings on your phone by visiting your app settings.
NB: If you are receiving duplicate email notifications, it may be because you were invited to join using one email address but when you joined you used a different email address. In this case the system thinks you are two different people and sends the notification out to both email addresses. Click here to see how to fix this issue.
Unless they have opted out, all users will receive the 'Weekly Digest' on Thursday. This contains listings from the Marketplace (which are not emailed out on their own) as well as a summary of the week's activity - personalised for each user. This means different users will receive different information in the digest as they belong to different groups and classes.
|Emailed to parents||Badge notification on website and app||Posted to wall|
|Posts to a group||√ (only to the parents in the group)||√ (only parents in the group)||√ (for parents in the group)|
|Post to Whole School||x||√||√|
|Comments on posts||√ (only on posts that you have commented on)||√||√|
|Comments on announcements||√ (only on announcements that you have commented on)||√||√|
|Replies to private messages||√||√||x|
*Marketplace posts are emailed out once a week, in the weekly digest.
**The weekly digest is emailed out once a week, at 9 pm GMT on a Thursday.